100% Clean Energy by 2050 Pledge

Picture a world powered on 100% clean energy. Less air pollution, less lung disease, and less carbon dioxide heating up our planet, threatening our economy and our communities.

This is the ambition that has driven us on our journey towards clean energy from our very first moment in 2015, when days before the UN Climate Conference in Paris, COP21, dozens of UK local leaders came together and pledged to shift to 100% clean energy by 2050.

By November 2020, more than 110 local authorities had signed up to our ‘100% clean energy by 2050’ pledge. Ahead of COP26 in November 2021, we’re now asking them to commit to our new, more ambitious, Net Zero-aligned pledge.

Read our clean energy pledge below with 112 signatories, and check out our State of the Network Report that marked UK100's first five years.

100% Clean Energy by 2050 Pledge

As leaders across Britain we see the challenges our communities face and acknowledge our responsibility to secure the future for them and for people around the world when faced with the challenge of a changing climate.

The people who live in the cities, towns and villages we serve deserve warm homes, secure and affordable energy, to breathe clean air, drink clean water and live in a place  that they can be proud of.

This will help us ensure we keep the lights on, generate our own power for our nation, protect consumers from high and unstable energy prices and end our dependence on imported fuel from states we would rather not rely on.

The future we face requires ambition and imagination so that our children can have a safe and secure future, so we will take action that tackles climate change but also builds communities which are the best places for our children to grow up.

We have a crisis: we have a responsibility to deal with it.

We are uniquely placed to contribute to the solutions we need, because of our industrial past and we have demonstrated throughout our history that we are able and willing to lead on finding solutions to the new challenges the world faces.

We have the ambition of making all our cities, towns and villages across the UK 100% clean before 2050, in line with the commitments made nationally and internationally at the Paris Summit.

We hope other places across the globe will join us to demonstrate that this transition will happen through acts of leadership, and that a transition to a clean energy future is both viable and already beginning to happen today. We are committed to making a better future for all.


  • Adur District Council
  • Ashfield District Council
  • London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
  • Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Bassetlaw District Council
  • Bath and North East Somerset Council
  • Birmingham City Council
  • Blackpool Council
  • Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council
  • City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council
  • London Borough of Brent 
  • Bridgend County Borough Council
  • Bristol City Council
  • Bury Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Caerphilly County Borough Council
  • Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Cambridge City Council
  • Cambridgeshire County Council
  • London Borough of Camden
  • Canterbury City Council
  • Carlisle City Council
  • Central Bedfordshire Council
  • Cheshire East Council
  • Cheshire West and Chester Council
  • Cornwall Council
  • Cotswold District Council
  • Crawley Borough Council
  • London Borough of Croydon
  • Derby City Council
  • Derbyshire County Council
  • Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Durham County Council
  • London Borough of Ealing
  • East Dunbartonshire Council
  • City of Edinburgh Council
  • London Borough of Enfield
  • Essex County Council
  • Exeter City Council
  • Gedling Borough Council
  • Glasgow City Council
  • Gloucestershire County Council
  • Royal Borough of Greenwich
  • London Borough of Hackney
  • Halton Borough Council
  • Hampshire County Council
  • London Borough of Haringey
  • Harlow Council
  • London Borough of Harrow
  • Herefordshire Council
  • Inverclyde Council
  • London Borough of Islington 
  • Kirklees Council
  • Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • London Borough of Lambeth
  • Lancashire County Council
  • Lancaster City Council
  • Leeds City Council
  • Leicester City Council
  • Leicestershire County Council
  • London Borough of Lewisham
  • City of Lincoln Council
  • Liverpool City Council
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Manchester City Council
  • Milton Keynes Council
  • Newcastle City Council
  • London Borough of Newham
  • Newport City Council
  • North Yorkshire County Council
  • Norwich City Council
  • Nottingham City Council
  • Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Oxford City Council
  • Peterborough City Council
  • Plymouth City Council
  • Preston City Council
  • Reading Borough Council
  • Redcar and Cleveland Council
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
  • Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Salford City Council
  • Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Sheffield City Council
  • Shropshire Council
  • Somerset County Council
  • South Gloucestershire Council
  • South Lakeland District Council
  • South Tyneside Council
  • Southampton City Council
  • London Borough of Southwark
  • St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
  • Stevenage Borough Council
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Stroud District Council
  • Suffolk County Council
  • Sunderland City Counil
  • Swansea City and Borough Council
  • Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Torfaen County Borough Council
  • London Borough of Tower Hamlets
  • Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Wakefield Metropolitan Borough Council
  • London Borough of Waltham Forest
  • London Borough of Wandsworth
  • Warrington Borough Council
  • Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Wiltshire Council
  • Wirral Council
  • Wolverhampton City Council
  • Worthing Borough Council
  • Wychavon District Council