The UK's Green Industrial Revolution is coming your way

How many green jobs could come to your community?

There are 2.7 million workers across England who already have the skills we need to reach Net Zero. Use our search tool to find how many will be in high demand in your area, with the right public investment, as we build the green economy.

Voters should expect their candidates in the upcoming local elections to commit, if elected, to prioritising a green recovery and ensuring high demand for these jobs in your area.


The UK's Green Industrial Revolution is coming your away 

Future-proofed jobs, more training opportunities, warmer homes, cleaner air… these are all things that we can look forward to as we transition towards Net Zero. Our local communities up and down the UK are going to benefit from a healthier environment and a more resilient economy.

There are more than 2.7 million jobs across England for workers who already have the skills we need to reach Net Zero. These are workers like builders, plumbers, engineers, electricians, designers, coordinators and carpenters, all vital for building the infrastructure of a green economy.

With the right kind of public investment, these 2,738,410 good green jobs will be in high demand as we move to a low carbon economy - letting our communities get back to work post-Covid. 

It’ll also mean millions more jobs that young people and future generations can train for, without the threat of industry collapse or getting trapped in sectors of the past like coal.

And the ambition and active involvement of local leaders across the country is central to getting there, ensuring the job opportunities and economic benefits come to their communities.

Are you standing in a local election and want to sign our election pledge?

As part of your campaign, are you interested in signing our election pledge to, if elected:

  • ensure your local authority reaches Net Zero further and faster than the national target of 2050
  • prioritise a green recovery 
  • join with UK100 and its cross party membership in advocating to the government for more powers and resources to help them get there. 

If elected, these candidates will then go into a process of signing up to our Net Zero pledge.

Get in touch with to find out more.

Newsletter graphic

For all the latest news about how our ambitious members are tackling the climate crisis and air pollution, and how UK100 is helping them reach their goals, sign up to our newsletter.

About the data we've used

Place-based Climate Action Network

This data comes from the Place-based Climate Action Network, based on research by Nick Robins, Andy Gouldson, William Irwin and Andrew Sudmant, from LSE’s Grantham Research Institute and the University of Leeds.

Get PCAN's full data and read the report.

Report reference: Robins, N., Gouldson, A., Irwin, W. and Sudmant, A., 2019. Investing in a just transition in the UK How investors can integrate social impact and place-based financing into climate strategies. London: Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, London School of Economics and Political Science